Video Analytics Part 1

I have recently started my video analytics company and in my journey of promoting it have come across a couple commonalities when I tell people what I do.   First, they ask “What is that?”  and the second thing that I have been asked is “What do I do with it?”

This has lead me to the idea of creating a blog series about video analytics, the services I provide and some suggestions, tips for people who have a ton of video sitting around the house of their kids playing sports.  And then from there who knows where it will go.

This first post is mostly information about me and my business to give you an idea of where I am coming from.  This will answer part of the question “What is it?”

When I think of video analytics I think of player development.  Using video to help players develop to their full potentials.   There are multiple ways to do this, hence the multiple services I can offer.  Development of athletes is very individualized, anyone who sells you a general package that they use is full of it.   Video analytics is the same way.   Everyone has a different level of understanding, knowledge, ability to see the game, ability to see themselves objectively, and ability to comprehend what they are seeing.   I start with every client by sitting down and talking with them about their goal & objectives for themselves, their season, and their development.

I start with every client by sitting down and talking with them about their goal & objectives for themselves, their season, and their development.  This helps give me a framework for what I am going to target in the breakdown of the video.   From here, if their coaches are involved in the project I will sit down with the coach and ask them the same questions.  Often athletes and coaches priorities are different, so I want to be able to amalgamate the two into something meaningful and actionable.

Once we have an idea of what is a priority for that specific athlete, they send me their video and I start to pull out the clips that show these items that they want to focus on.   After the first set of breakdowns, I have the athlete watch it and tell me what they see and why the feel I picked those specific clips and how they relate to the targeted areas.  If they are able to identify and get what is going on and are comfortable we keep on with the process, send me a video I send you clips.   If you are struggling or having trouble I will sit with the client (virtually or in person) and discuss what to watch for and help guide them.

This is for individuals.  What happens when a coach wants analytics done for their team? Basically, the same thing, sit down talk about priorities and what they are looking for, send me the video, you watch first, then if needed I will jump in and help guide.

From here we then go into the question “What do I do with it?”  Stay tuned for my next post to address just that!

 

Leave a Reply

