Video Analytics Part 2

In my last post, I talked about what Video Analytics is.   This post is focused on answering “what do I do with it?”

Now obviously I can’t give you all the answers or there would be no need for my services! However, I can help explain what I can do to help you with it and what you will be able to do once you have the breakdowns I have provided.

So, we have gone through the introduction phase, you have given me your video, we have sat down and talked about what you are looking for and I have gotten you the clips you asked for, what now?   After you have your video clips there are 2 options

1) I can work with you to look at them and help guide you with some leading questions to help you figure out why those specific clips are there.   Most often you know what the clips are for because you have requested them specifically and now you are trying to get information out of them and figure out were they good or bad instances of what you have asked to watch.     If they are bad, I would then guide you into figuring out what was wrong with them and how we can improve in that situation.  If they are good, then I would guide you with questions around your decisions at that point and how we can make sure we make those good decisions again in the future.   This option can be done in person, through a virtual meeting like Skype, over the phone, or with a questionnaire that you fill out as you go and I check to make sure you have the understanding without me physically being there.

2) The second option is that you take the video and watch it yourself without me guiding you.    This is a good option if you are fully aware of what to look for and why you are looking for those things or if you have someone else like a coach or parent who is capable of leading you through a guided discover (as I have in the first option).

No matter which option you choose it is very important that you are watching your video with specific intentions and purpose and you are pulling out information on how to improve or keep doing well to repeat a good performance.

There are many books, blogs, and YouTube videos out there that tell you what you should be looking for, however, I am a firm believer that every athlete is different and there is no one main way to do things for everyone.   This is why the initial meeting is so important as well as constant follow-up and communication.

Having someone to help guide you not tell you will help you develop as an individual overall and make it more of a personal experience in which you are invested and committed to.   How many times has your coach told you to do something and you say yeah and think you are but when you see yourself on the video you realize you actually aren’t?    This is where self-discovery and awareness come into play.  Once you have seen it and identified its chances of not doing it or doing it again (if its good) are higher because you are aware instead of it just being something that came in one ear and possibly out the other.

I am talking here about devleopment and player awareness.  Looking at stats and analytics from that side is a whole nother story and topic that will be covered later.  I am current reading and doing research on advanced analytics and how to use those for player development.   More to come!

 

Leave a Reply

